Skip to main content


Guochun Jiang, Ph.D. – Principal Investigator

Assistant Professor
UNC HIV Cure Center, Institute for Global Health and Infectious Diseases (IGHID), and Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics

Yuyang Tang, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor
UNC HIV Cure Center and IGHID

Gabriela Prates, B.S.

Visiting graduate student and FAPESP fellow, Brazil.

Xiaoyi Li, M.D./Ph.D.

Postdoc researcher

Rui Zhao, B.S.

Visiting Master’s student



Hongjie Chen, M.D./Ph.D.

Postdoctoral visiting scholar


Undergraduate students

Gabriella AhnBrielle M. Thrasybule    Yogesh Koppu

















Mr. Brendon L. Brown, Undergraduate Research Assistant/Chem395 class. Current position: PhD student at the Georgia Institute of Technology.

Mr. Eduardo de la Parra Polina, Undergraduate Research Assistant. The SMART Awardee and RISE Germany Awardee/Bio395 class. Current position: Summer internship at BASF SE, Germany.

Ms. Emily Sang, Undergraduate Research Assistant.

Dr. Dajiang Li, Postdoc Research Associate. Current position: Scientist in RTP, NC.

Mr. Smaran Sivashankar, Undergraduate Research Assistant.

Mr. Daniel Zhong, Undergraduate Research Assistant  (2022 Summer Research Awardee and Eve Carson Scholar).

Ms. Jiayi Du (Bio395 class), current position: MPH student in the School of Public Health at Yale University. 

Dr. Theresa L. Simermeyer, current position: Scientist, KBI Biopharma, NC.

Ms. Eduarda Blaschke, undergraduate Research Volunteer. 

Ms. Lilly M. Wong, current position: Research Associate II at Research Triangle Institute, NC. 

Mr. Baird Cotsakis (Bio395 class), current position: MD student, VCU School of Medicine, Richmond, VA.

Ms. Skyler Noble, undergraduate Research Volunteer. 

Ms. Surabhi A. Maske (Bio395 class), undergraduate Research Volunteer.

Ms. Jialynn Huang, undergraduate Research Volunteer. 

Ms. Claire Chang (Bio395 class), 2020 SURF Awardee, current position: MD student, University of Connecticut Medical School, CT.

Ms. Michera I. Gentry, undergraduate Research Volunteer.

Ms. Nancie Hergert, current position: Clinical Research Coordinator, UT.

Dr. Mariana G. Weber, current position: Scientist, the Instil Bio, CA.

Ms. Courtney Saeteum, current position: Clinical Staff Pharmacist at USC School of Pharmacy.

Dr.. Biftu Mume, current position: Anesthesiology Resident in Stanford University, CA.

Dr. Maher M. Elsheikh, current position: Microbiology Laboratory Manager, Prime Analytical Laboratories, LLC, CA.

Ms. Abigail Mende, current position: PhD student, University of California, Berkley, CA.

Dr. Beau H. Parry, current position: Scientist, Jackson Laboratory, CA.

Dr. Donald Doanman (Don Nguyen), current position: M.D./Ph.D. student, the Mount Sinai School of Medicine, NY.

Dr. Parmveer (Shan) Hansra, current position: Radiology Resident, Department of Radiology at UC-Davis, CA.

Dr. Erica A. Mendes, current position: Scientist, ViiV Healthcare, NC.



  • Drs. Sara Gianella and Antoine Chaillon at UC-San Diego
  • Dr. Anne Chaudhari at Emory University and Yerks National Primate Research Center
  • Dr. Katherine Bar at the University of Pennsylvania
  • Dr. Huanbin Xu at the Tulane National Primate Center
  • Dr. Sarah Joseph at UNC-Chapel Hill
  • Dr. Satya Dandekar at California National Primate Research Center
  • Dr. Wenhui Hu at Temple University
  • Dr. Alan Engleman at Harvard University